BNP's blueprint for winning the election: 300 Chhatra Dal leaders became election officials overnight!


Published on October 1, 2022
  • Details Image

In an urgent recruitment process, the BNP-Jamaat government appointed 300 party cadres as upazila election officers ahead of the January 22 elections in 2007. In the history of Bangladesh, there has never been such quick recruitment through PSC. The Khaleda Zia government tarnished the Public Service Commission and the recruitment process in government jobs by making these appointments based on the list and without any examination.

After the PSC issued a circular for recruitment on September 4, 2006, the recruitment process was completed on February 26 under the direct instructions of Tarique Rahman from Hawabhaban. However, after the change in the political backdrops on 1/11, advisers to the caretaker government discussed the matter on 13 January 2007 as reported on the Prothom Alo on January 18, 2007. 

It is known that these 300 Chhatra Dal leaders were appointed as upazila election officers to organize elections in their way. Among them, 60 Chhatra Dal leaders and activists from Dhaka University, 10 from Chittagong University and 12 from Rajshahi University. Besides, 15 Chhatra Dal leaders of Bogra were also appointed to this post.

Among the Chhatra Dal leaders appointed from Dhaka University were Chhatra Dal leaders Momin Sarkar, Abdul Ghaffar, Moniruzzaman and former office secretary Syed Ahmed Cyclone; former Shahidullah Hall unit president Jahangir Alam Rakib, vice president Sajiul Islam, joint secretary Fazlul Karim and members Abdur Rahim; former Jashimuddin unit vice president Abdul Hannan and Habibur Rahman, Jasas member secretary Zahidur Rahman, social welfare and research unit vice-president Sekander Ali, Zia Hall unit joint secretary Shaheen Akand, former Zahurul Haque Hall unit president Nazim Uddin Bhuiyan, and former Sureya Sen hall unit vice-president Shafiqul Islam.  

Besides, other Chhatra Dal leaders and activists of different hall units of Dhaka University included Mejbah Uddin, Monir Hossain, Kazi Mohammad Nure Alam, Muhammad Fazlur Rahman, Wahiduzzaman Munsi Tipu, Nazir Ahmad Seemab, Muhammad Shafiqul Islam, Rashid Mia Sagar, Moniruzzaman, Abdul Ghaffar, and Mohammad Habibur Rahman.