Int'l Affairs Subcommittee's webinar held on Oct 31


Published on November 2, 2020
  • Details Image

The International Affairs Sub-Committee organized a webinar "50 years of Bangladesh: Economy, Society, People, and Leadership" to reflect on the struggle of the people, assess the achievements, and provide challenges going forward. The keynote speakers in this webinar were Dr. Dianne Bolton, Dr. Eirik Jansen, and Dr. Anders Corr. Along with them, Dr. Shammi Ahmed, International Affairs Secretary, Bangladesh Awami League, Dr. Atiur Rahman, Former Governor, Bangladesh Bank, Dr. A. K. Abdul Momen, MP, Foreign Minister, Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh and AMBASSADOR (Rtd.) Muhammad Zamir, Chairman, International Affairs Committee, Bangladesh Awami League.

The keynote speakers in their speeches highlighted the tremendous transformation the country experienced. Dr. Dianne Bolton, Adjunct Professor, Swinburne University, Australia, linked the topic of governance and leadership to Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). She highlighted the integration of equity principle in planning, and the concept of leaving no one behind is allied with the SDGs.

Dr. Eirik Jansen reminisced his time in Bangladesh as a research fellow during the late 1970s. He stated while the situation was dire in the late 1970s and 1980s, he appreciated Bangladesh's development during the last decade.

Dr. Anders Corr appreciated the Honourable Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's stance in her most recent UN address. She followed Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's take on world peace and anti-exploitation.

While Dr. Atiur Rahman provided a detailed outline of the achievements of Bangladesh and the turnaround in fortunes over the last decade, Dr. Shammi Ahmed linked the dynamic leadership of the Honorable Prime Minister to the achievement of sustainable economic growth.

Dr. A. K. Abdul Momen provided the metrics of achievements of the country over the years, highlighting the achievements of the AL-led government. He further appreciated the initiative taken by the International Affairs Sub-Committee and stated the opinions of the such renowned researchers be preserved.