The Election of the United Front


In March 1954, an election of the last Pakistan Provincial Assembly was held. This election is commonly known as the United Front election. 

The opposition political parties, under the leadership of the mainstream party, Awami League formed the United Front to fight the electoral battle against the ruling Muslim League. The Front was formally launched in December 1953 with Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy, Sher-e-Bangla AK Fazlul Huq, Maulana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani and Sheikh Mujibur Rahman as the chief proponents. With ‘boat’ as the election symbol, the United Front achieved a landslide victory winning 300 seats out of 309. The ruling Muslim League got only 9 seats. This electoral win by United Front marked a watershed in the politics of East Pakistan. The ruling Muslim not only suffered a crushing defeat, but it was virtually wiped out as a political force from East Bengal as well.  For the Bangalees, it was a revolution through ballot. But the United Front Government led by Fazlul Huq was short-lived. The central Government of Pakistan dissolved it on the 56th day of its assumption of power. The Bangalees were outraged and infuriated by this nefarious act on the part of the Pakistani ruling clique.

Share this